Friday, April 15, 2016


Ramona Gonzalez aka Nite Jewel was never short of musical surprises. From her early unconventional experiments with electronica, through the fruitful collaboration with the Modern Funk wizard DâM-FunK to the magnificent "One Second of Love" and her other synth-pop excursions, she was never banal or predictable. Now the lo-fi artist from Los Angeles returns with a real jewel of a song. No other track this year, apart from Jessy Lanza’s inescapable "ItMeans I Love You", impressed me so much. "Boo Hoo" is an intricately crafted sonic mish-mash of electro pop, future R&B and nu disco à la Glass Candy. The flawless production goes hand in hand with a very solid songwriting here. "Boo Hoo" announces the release of Nite Jewel’s 3rd studio album "Liquid Cool" which drops 10th June via her own label Gloriette. See the full tracklist below (via Pitchfork):

01 Nothing but Scenery
02 Was That a Sign
03 You Now
04 Kiss the Screen
05 Over the Weekend
06 Boo Hoo
07 I Mean It
08 Running Out Of Time
09 All My Life