Tuesday, September 29, 2015


Anne Lilia Berge-Strand, better known simply as Annie, has collaborated with Richard X on many a Pop classic. The ageless hit "Chewing Gum", the anthemic "Songs Remind Me of You" or the entire "A&R EP" with the phenomenal "Invisible" or the ultra-catchy "Back Together" are just a few examples of their fruitful legacy. Pure Pop Perfection is what I like to call their joint efforts! Now Annie returns with "Cara Mia" an uplifting synth-pop gem dipped in Balearic synths heralding the arrival of the Norwegian singer's most anticipated "Endless Vacation" EP coming out 16 October via Pleasure Masters. Flawless again. Absolutely flawless.

Sunday, September 27, 2015


"Destiny" - Akiine's previous single stole my heart completely and immediately when I discovered it first back in May. Now the enigmatic Swedish songstress announces the release of "Neptune" EP (out via Color Station 30th October) which promises to be a truly fascinating journey through electronic soul, future R&B and the less explored darker corners of synth-pop. "Paranormal Activity" accentuates Akiine's unique potential as a startlingly mature vocalist, for a young dame of music like herself, and a classy songwriter. The song beguiles with its delicate array of bleeps, micro-beats and sonic ripples. It's like an imaginary Lali Puna collaboration with Björk around her "Vespertine" era... Subtle, alluring and hauntingly beautiful.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "GET IT RIGHT" - Catz 'n Dogz feat. Tanika /// "EVIL EYES (Catz ‘n Dogz Remix)" - Róisín Murphy

Even though Catz 'N Dogz have a very solid following and a reliable reputation around dance circles at this stage, somehow I have only come across this Berlin based Polish electro crew when Róisín Murphy released her remix action packed "Evil Eyes" EP. The Polish dj's and producers are teasing the release of their 3rd studio LP "Basic Colour Theory" with "Get It Right" featuring Tanika who guest appeared on the record alongside Green Velvet, Egle Sirvydyte and Javeon. It's a full blast electro house stomper fitting somewhere frivolously between Peaches and Tiga. The track is accompanied by one of this year's most memorable videos. Catz 'N Dogz remix for La Murphy is a 7 minute deep house escapade adding an extra bit of colour to this already cult single from the Irish chanteuse. Aji Maji La Taraji and make some magic happen with Catz 'N Dogz and Róisín Murphy who is perfoming this evening live at Later with Jools Holland on BBC2.

Photo of Róisín Murphy by KAI MÜLLER.

Friday, September 18, 2015


Back in March Kelela teased us with the moody, Arca produced "A Message" - the very first teaser from her upcoming EP "Hallucinogen" which drops 9th October via the legendary Warp Records. Now the Future R&B pioneer delivers the impeccably produced upbeat gem "Rewind", with a little help from Kingdom and Nugget, already sounding like one of Kelela's most irresistible and classic moments. The video for this surprisingly catchy song was directed by Eric K Yue. The mélange of throbbing electronic beats, layers of flawless vocal harmonies and that infectious melody makes it an instant winner in my music book.

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Tuesday, September 15, 2015


The multi-talented Shamir drops another video and another single from his remarkable debut album "Ratchet". While still feeling hyper and stunned following Bailey's vigorous and youthful performances at Electric Picnic the other weekend, "In For The Kill" comes in as a very special treat indeed. Right next to "Vegas" and the anthemic "On The Regular" among the most accomplished compositions on Shamir's extraordinary first full length record. The video which has just premiered on ROOKIE, was directed by Anthony Sylvester.

Sunday, September 13, 2015


Destiny Frasqueri aka Princess Nokia leaves her hip-hop past aside to self-release "Orange Blossom" your ultimate late summer slow disco groove. Vintage pop flavoured, smoothly produced, sensually sung - "Orange Blossom" will find its comfortable spot somewhere between Prince, Blood Orange and Solange in your music library. As reported by Pitchfork "she'll release September's Honeysuckle mixtape simply as Destiny, digging deep into retro soul, disco, and funk aesthetics while exploring black pride and female power—topics she also takes on as part of the Smart Girl Club radio show". The single is out on iTunes now and its seductive and effortlessly cool aura will leave you begging for more of those sweet Destiny sounds. A sonic aphrodisiac.

Wednesday, September 9, 2015


Two unparalleled talents. Two passionate chanteuses. Two artists suffering from ennui of the current pop scene. Two independent singers whose alternative choices are making planet music a better place. While U.S. Girls is getting ready to release her latest album "Half Free" via the cult 4AD in two weeks time, the New York based Empress Of's full length debut "Me" drops by equally impressive Terrible Records in two days time.

I adored U.S. Girls' previous 2 singles the dubby "Damn That Valley" and the electro noir "Woman's Worth" but it's the hypnotising, piano and oriental string laden "Window Shades" which is taking the crown for me out of the three. I am becoming increasingly intrigued by this album with every next unravelled song. One of a kind.

Lorely Rodriguez vel Empress Of captured my heart with the dream pop marvel "Hat Trick" back in 2013 and out of all 4 songs presented to us prior to the release of "Me" - the surprisingly catchy "How Do You Do It?" is by far the most captivating. With the slight change in her musical direction, Empress Of aims for more upbeat, electronic and joyous sounds.

Two excellent tracks.

Monday, September 7, 2015


Brooklyn nu disco ensemble Escort return with "Body Talk" - possibly their most accomplished single since the inescapable groove "Love In Indigo" saw the light of day back in 2006. It's hard to believe 2016 will mark 10 years for Escort but before that we will be receiving the disco revivalists' 2nd studio album "Animal Nature".  The record opens with the magnificent "Body Talk" and includes one of the band's most cherished past singles "Barbarians", the title track described by them as an "homage to all the great dark and sultry disco classics" as well as a whole fruitful bunch of remixes and re-edits by the likes of Morgan Geist, JKriv, Little Boots and Tiger & Woods. The lavish production, Adeline Michèle's effortless vocals and impressively rich melody, one that could serve 3 separate songs, makes "Body Talk" an instant classic.

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Crème de la crème: TOP 20 BEST OF AUGUST 2015

20 (N) "Animal Nature" - Escort (Escort Records)

19 (N) "Disappointing" - John Grant feat. Tracey Thorn (Bella Union/Partisan)

18 (N) "Cheapest Flight" - PREP (self released)

17 (N) "This Simple Pleasure" - Billie Black (Bblk Recordings)

16 (N) "High By The Beach" - Lana Del Rey (Polydor/Interscope Records)

15 (N) "Personal Computer" - Silicon (Weird World)

Stream HERE! (Track #1)

14 (N) "LOTF (Love On The Floor) - BOSCO (Fool's Gold Records)

13 (N) "The Owner" - NTEIBINT feat. Stella (Eskimo Recordings/N.E.W.S)

12 (N) "Got to Work It Out" - Robyn & La Bagatelle Magique (Konichiwa Records)

11 (N) "Thin Line" - Cherushii feat. Maria Minerva (100% Silk)

10 (10) "Pink Light" - Jamie Lidell (self released)

9 (N) "Kendrick" - Anushka (Brownswood Recordings)

8 (N) "Afterparty" - Tink (self released)

7 (N) "City Of Light" + "Natural High" - Sugarz (Gulf Point Records)

6 (3) "Roses" - Abra (self released)

5 (N) "House Of Glass" - Róisín Murphy (Play It Again Sam)

4 (N) "Slumlord" - Neon Indian (Static Tongues/Transgressive Records)

3 (6) "It Keeps Turning (JD Samson Remix)" - Shaun J. Wright & Alinka (Twirl)

2 (N) "Koi" - Le1f feat. Sophie (Terrible Records)

1 (1) "Do It Good" - Sísý Ey (mr.intl)