Saturday, September 29, 2018

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "ONE MORE" - Yaeji /// "FOCUS (Yaeji Remix)" - Charli XCX

Yaeji is keeping herself busy with this double offering of new sounds. The Korean producer is serving her brand new track "One More" together with a delightful remix of Charli XCX's "Focus" she has adorned with her own vocals. The pulsating "One More" brings back sweet memories of her earliest works such as "New York 93" or "Feel It Out", mixing house and electronica elements in her own signature kooky style.

Here's how Yaeji herself describes the mood of the track and its eclectic and ever-changing production on her Instagram account:

"I started writing this track while experiencing deep growing pains. I felt lost in my life's quick change of pace, and was betrayed by someone I trusted. I needed to write this song to understand what was happening around me. Throughout the next few months, I kept revisiting the track, adding and taking away bits, changing the synth completely, rewriting a part of the lyrics—it was a constantly changing piece that documented the process of my transformation. Listening to the earliest version of the song through its evolution, I remembered the times I was confused or angry, processed those feelings, understood my pains, and finally felt like I gained a bit of control over it all. "One More" is about enduring and coming to terms with pain until you have the strength to forgive and move on."

Sunday, September 16, 2018

LA MURPHY SAGA CONTINUES: "JACUZZI ROLLERCOASTER" / "CAN'T HANG ON" [with Maurice Fulton & Ali Love] - Róisín Murphy

So here it is, the 3rd chapter in the ever so captivating collaborative saga between Róisín Murphy and Maurice Fulton. The "Jacuzzi Rollercoaster" / "Can't Hang On" single is featuring London based singer Ali Love whom you may know, aside from his solo projects, from his previous joint efforts with Freeform Five, Luca C & Brigante & Hot Natured, all of whom would have also joined artistic forces in the past with La Murphy herself. "Jacuzzi Rollercoaster" is a full-flavoured slice of mid-tempo electronic-funk-meets-synth-pop, embellished with some rather delectable 1980's R&B reminiscences. The track certainly fits into the Irish artist's very own description of her current sound "My kind of dancing: all low and funky, allowing itself to be a little out of control". The throbbing "Can't Hang On" on the other hand is an invincible dancefloor-ready stomper with layers of Murphy's vocals.

The single was preceded by the equally vibrant double offerings of "All My Dreams" / "Innocence" and "Plaything" / "Like".

"Jacuzzi Rollercoaster" and "Can't Hang On" are both available now on all digital outlets and you can pre-order your own copy of the limited edition 12" via The Vinyl Factory ahead of its 22nd September release.

The very talented Portuguese New Yorker Bráulio Amado designed all the exclusive artwork for the whole series of these four exhilarating 12" singles produced by Maurice Fulton. Roll on October release of "The Rumble" / "World's Crazy" combo.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018


Our most favourite French disco chanteuse Corine is back with yet another stellar single heralding the arrival of her most anticipated debut album scheduled for 16 November. We're expecting a hedonistic avalanche of synth-pop and nu-disco in a vivacious aura of all sounds kitsch, camp and coquettish. The glamorously retro-chic "Maquillage" is on a par with Corine's previous singles such as "Pluie Fine", "Pourquoi Pourquoi" or her alluring duet with Juliette Armanet "Épopée Solaire". J'adorrrrre...

Saturday, September 8, 2018

Crème de la Shrem: TOP 25 BEST OF AUGUST 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Funky Thang" - Shay Lia (Gravats)

24 (N) "Red Light Drive" - Hira (Paul Institute)

Listen on Spotify.

23 "Girls Night Out" - Charli XCX (Asylum Records)

22 (N) "Linda e Louca" - Ellen Milgrau (self-released)

21 (N) "I'm Good" - Wafia (Future Classic)

20 (13) "Ekkert Drama" - Reykjavíkurdætur & Svala (self-released)

19 (N) "La Marcheuse" - Christine & The Queens (Because Music)

18 (N) "Blinded by the LEDs" - Lindstrøm (Feedelity Recordings/Smalltown Supersound)

17 (N) "Glide" - Channel Tres (GODMODE)

16 (N) "Wszystko Czego Dziś Chcę" - A_GIM & Brodka (Kayax)

15 (N) "Kong" - Neneh Cherry (Smalltown Supersound)

14 (8) "Marzipan" - felicita feat. Caroline Polachek (PC Music)

13 (14) "Jet Black" - Channel Tres (GODMODE)

12 (N) "Just a Little" - Lauren Faith (The Label)

11 (N) "Make Me Feel (The Juan Maclean Remix)" - Kim Anh (Good For You Records)

10 (7) "For The Night" - Svala (Sony Music)

9 (N) "When I'm With Him" - Empress Of (Terrible Records)

8 (N) "Missing U" - Robyn (Konichiwa Records)

7 (N) "Escape" - Ouri (Ghostly International/Make It Rain Records)

6 (N) "Give Me A Reason" - Midnight Magic (Soul Clap Records)

5 (N) "Falling For You (Virginia Remix)" - Shaun J. Wright & Alinka (Twirl)

4 (2) "Like" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

3 (N) "5 Dollars" - Christine & The Queens (Because Music)

2 (1) "Plaything" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

1 (N) "Give Me Life" - Midnight Magic (Soul Clap Records)