Saturday, March 25, 2017

SHREM'S FUTURE ANTHEMS: "PLUIE FINE" - Corine + Polo & Pan Remix

Corine's disco EP "Fille De Ta Région" swept me off my feet last December when I thought nothing else could possibly surprise me at that stage in 2016. It was a tongue-in-cheek medley of nu disco produced in a truly French style with a generous dose of kitsch. Aside from the instantly anthemic "Pourquoi Pourquoi" it was the luxurious "Pluie Fine" which stole the show for me on this hedonistic 4-tracker released by Kwaidan Records.

Yesterday saw the release of Corine's Remix EP including extended version of "Pourquoi Pourquoi" alongside fresh mixes from Lazare Hoche, Plaisir De France, Pacific State and Polo & Pan who turned "Pluie Fine" into a coquettish house gem ready for your European club escapades. I have literally had it on repeat since Thursday night and simply cannot wait to play it during one of my next sets. Délicieux!

Thursday, March 23, 2017


Nite Jewel, who only just scored a Top 5 spot among the greatest tracks of 2016 in our annual #Top100 countdown with "Boo Hoo", is at her creative peak with a brand new album ready to pop! "Real High" drops 5th May via her own label Gloriette Records with contributions from Julia Holter, Droop-E and the Modern Funk emperor DâM-FunK, her artistic partner in crime from Nite Funk. One of the 2 new songs Ramona Gonzalez was already teasing us with during her "Liquid Cool" Tour last autumn - "2 Good 2 Be True" is the first single taken off "Real High". The vintage synth-laden, beat-pulsating song is an enchanting invitation to dance, Nite Jewel's very own take-on house music and a step into more melodic sonic territories for the Los Angeles singer-songwriter. I couldn't be any more thrilled about her 4th LP.


01. In The Nite
02. Had To Let Me Go
03. 2 Good 2 Be True
04. Real High
05. The Answer
06. I Don’t Know
07. When I Decide (It’s Alright)
08. Who U R
09. Part Of Me
10. Obsession
11. R We Talking Long

Monday, March 20, 2017


Anabel Acevedo, Cristabel Acevedo and Rachel Rojas formed MULA 2 years ago. The Dominican trio serve a tropical kaleidoscope of synth pop, merengue, reggaeton, bachata, electronica and South African Shangaan electro. This truly eclectic, energy-filled cocktail of beats, rhythms and genres put them on a musical map among the most innovative explorers of the so-called world music scene. I was looking forward to hearing MULA's "AGUAS" ever since I heard "No Hay Manera" for the first time (here it is among the best tracks of 2016 in our annual countdown) last year. Here are 2 stand-out tracks "Diamantes" and "Espejos en las azoteas (1965)" which are fittingly opening and closing the album respectively. Get your copy of "AGUAS" now on iTunes or Bandcamp.

Photo by María Mejía

Thursday, March 16, 2017

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "SWEET" - Little Dragon /// "OCEAN" - Goldfrapp

Goldfrapp and Little Dragon both returned this year with fantastic come-back singles. The Swedish quartet beguiled us with the mellifluous "High" while Alison Goldfrapp and her artistic partner in crime Will Gregory treated us to a gritty electro feast of "Anymore". Now both bands are well into the promotion of their upcoming records and continue to impress with a second portion of tunes.

Yukimi Nagano and her team serve the impossibly addictive "Sweet" one of their most dancefloor-friendly offerings to date. Little Dragon's 5th studio album "Season High" drops on 14th April.


01 Celebrate
02 High
03 Pop Life
04 Sweet
05 Butterflies
06 Should I
07 Don’t Cry
08 Strobe Light
09 Push
10 Gravity

Goldfrapp are almost ready to release "Silver Eye", their 7th record, on the last day of this month. If we were to judge the LP by the excellent "Anymore" and this intensely exquisite slice of pop noir "Ocean", produced by the enfant terrible of electronica, The Haxan Cloak, we can assume a strong contender for the 2017 Album of the Year. Magnificent!


01 Anymore
02 Systemagic
03 Tigerman
04 Become The One
05 Faux Suede Drifter
06 Zodiac Black
07 Beast That Never Was
08 Everything Is Never Enough
09 Moon in Your Mouth
10 Ocean

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Crème de la crème: TOP 25 BEST OF FEBRUARY 2017

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Thoughts 7" - Patricia (Lives Through Magic)

24 (N) "Automaton" - Jamiroquai (Virgin EMI)

23 (N) "Friend Zone" - Thundercat (Brainfeeder)

22 (N) "Future Politics" - Austra (Domino)

21 (N) "Good Life" - Soulé (self-released)

20 (N) "Numb (Borussia Remix)" - Joakim (Because Music)

19 (N) "Noonside" - Yaeji (GODMODE)

18 (N) "Alright" - KACHINA feat. Afua (Affectionate Grooves)

17 (23) "Little Bubble" - Dirty Projectors (Domino)

16 (N) "A Miracle" - Poisonous Relationship (self-released on Bandcamp)


14 (N) "Fade To Me" - Hannah Holland feat. Josh Caffe (Crosstown Rebels)

13 (N) "Aleppo" - K Á R Y Y N (ANTEVASIN)

12 (3) "Pipe Dreams" - Nelly Furtado (Nelstar)

11 (N) "Growing Storm" - Shaun J. Wright & Alinka (Allergy Season)

10 (N) "High" - Little Dragon (Because Music)

9 (6) "Hans Is Driving" - Vitalic feat. Miss Kittin (Clivage Music)


8 (2) "Bebin" - Sevdaliza (self-released on Bandcamp)

7 (N) "Spicy Boyfriend" - Shawn Wasabi (self-released)

6 (N) "Грустный дэнс (Sad Dance)" - Luna (self-released)

5 (11) "Guess What" - Code Walk feat. Smerz (Ex-Local)

4 (N) "Cosmic Perspective" - Mndsgn (Stones Throw)

3 (N) "Controller" - Hercules & Love Affair feat. Faris Badwan (mr intl)

2 (N) "Give Me a Reason" - Ibibio Sound Machine (Merge)

1 (1) "Anymore" - Goldfrapp (Mute)

Wednesday, March 1, 2017


CHART PEAK: NLD #5, BEL #7, UK #10
PRODUCTION: Ian Devaney & Andy Morris

B-SIDE: "Sing It"

BEST REMIX: Big Beat Mix by Massive Attack