Monday, August 27, 2018


2 new talented singer-songwriters and one prolific producer. Following his work with Kali Uchis, Mary J Blige and Katy B, among others, the omnipresent Haitian-Canadian producer Kaytranada expands his vast catalogue of collaborations with these two fresh singles by Lauren Faith and Shay Lia.

For the uplifting summer afternoon groove "Just a Little", Kaytranada teams up with British vocalist Lauren Faith. Her smooth vocals paired with his signature modern take on contemporary R&B create a luscious listening experience.

As for Shay Lia, I have blogged about this Djiboutian artist on a number of occasions already, "Cherish" and "What's Your Problem?" being my favourites of Lia's songs to date. It's always a pleasure to see her back. "Funky Thang" is a 90's house flavoured anthem in the making. Pure fun!

Monday, August 20, 2018


Our most beloved disco revivalists Midnight Magic are back out of nowhere with not one but two brand new tracks!!! The unparalleled Tiffany Roth and her reliable crew are serving us a double dancefloor feast. The spell-binding "Give Me Life" is a sonic cocktail of house, the Magicians' horn section's signature embellishments and those sublime vocal harmonies and melody twists reminiscing the band's phenomenal club delicacy "Trouble T" which I selected as my 2014 Track of the Year here. And to think that's only a b-side!!! The summery and super-catchy A-side "Give Me a Reason" is an 80's flavoured synth-pop groove which already sounds like a Midnight Magic classic. It will no doubt sound equally charming in a live setting.

Check out also the video for "Down Delay" which the band premiered here back in January.

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Crème de la Shrem: TOP 25 BEST OF JULY 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "We Should Be Free" - Marquis Hawkes feat. Jamie Lidell (Houndstooth)

24 (N) "Charcoal Baby" - Blood Orange (Domino Recording)

23 (N) "People" - High Hoops (A Label Called Success)

22 (N) "Run The Road" - Santigold (Downtown Records)

21 (N) "God" - Sinjin Hawke & Zora Jones (Planet Mu Records)

20 (N) "Panda" - Kornél Kovács (Unknown to the Unknown)

19 (N) "Sophisticated Adult Ent." - Fit Of Body (2MR)

18 (N) "Asembi Ara Amba" - Y-Bayani & Henrik Schwarz (Sunday-Music Records)

17 (N) "Caught in a Lie" - Fatima (Eglo Records)

16 (5) "One of the Girls" - Otha (self-released)

15 (N) "Jungle" - Popular Computer (self-released)

14 (N) "Jet Black" - Channel Tres (GODMODE)

13 (N) "Ekkert Drama" - Reykjavíkurdætur & Svala (self-released)

12 (6) "Malamente" - ROSALÍA (Sony Music)

11 (4) "Innocence" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

10 (N) "Pienso en tu mirá" - ROSALÍA (Sony Music)

9 (N) "Echo Arms" - Mr Twin Sister (Twin Group)

8 (N) "Marzipan" - felicita feat. Caroline Polachek (PC Music)

7 (N) "For The Night" - Svala (Sony Music)

6 (N) "Doesn't matter (voleur de soleil)" - Christine & The Queens (Because Music)

5 (N) "There Was A Time (было время)" - Kedr Livanskiy (2MR)

4 (3) "Like Sugar" - Chaka Khan (Diary Records)

3 (N) "Gotasoul" - Azari feat. James Baley (Get Physical Music)

2 (2) "Like" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

1 (1) "Plaything" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

Monday, August 6, 2018

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "MISSING U" - Robyn /// "KONG" - Neneh Cherry

2 Swedish divas are back! It's been 4 years since Neneh Cherry's experimental "Blank Project" and 8 years since Robyn's epic Pop triptych "Body Talk". For the euphoric "Missing U" Robyn teams up with her long-term artistic ally Klas Åhlund and Metronomy's Joseph Mount while Neneh Cherry is joined by the legendary Massive Attack's 3D and Four Tet constructing a haunting ambiance of electronica and dub on "Kong". Two very much welcome comebacks in one week.

And here are both singers joining forces for their collaborative single "Out Of The Black" which was out 4 years ago: