Thursday, November 22, 2018


Onuka are back with a brand new single. The high-powered "Xashi" is such an unanticipated treat considering the Ukrainian electro-folk band have only just released their latest album "MOZAЇKA" back in spring. "ХАЩІ" is an energy-dripping aural concoction of electronica, synths, Kraftwerkian vibes, trombones and the compulsory Ukrainian folk instruments. Onuka is strengthening their established position among the most original acts of the European continent with a devoted following going beyond Central and Eastern Europe at this stage. Attracting audiences with their sleek image paired with the instantly recognisable visual aesthetics of their music videos and live shows, their signature sound fusing various genres, styles and influences and finally with what seems like an unstoppable stream of excellent releases, Onuka are on top of their game!

Tuesday, November 20, 2018


Photo by Hannah Faith
If you are nostalgic about 1980's vibes, the rare grooves, those smooth and slick soul anthems à la 1985 you are pretty much guaranteed to fall for this oldskool-flavoured absolute gem of a song. Lynda Dawn is a London based vocalist whose "Move" could trick us into believing it was some previously undiscovered lost gem of the era... The track comes from the latest edition in Gilles Peterson's cult series of compilations "Brownswood Bubblers". A lucky 13th volume! Think Mtume, The Fatback Band, Loose Ends, René & Angela and Gwen Guthrie... I am so looking forward to hearing more from this talented young songstress.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

LA MURPHY SAGA CONTINUES: "THE RUMBLE" / "WORLD'S CRAZY" [with Maurice Fulton] - Róisín Murphy

Both "The Rumble" and "World's Crazy" have already scored high among my #Top25 Crème de la Crème list for October but the arrival of the official video for the A-side track makes for a splendid occasion to blog about this final instalment in the lavish Róisín Murphy x Maurice Fulton collaboration once more.

"The Rumble" is an epic diva-house-meets-gospel gloriousness quickly becoming the favourite out of the 8 Murphy/Fulton club tracks among the fans. The uncompromising, utterly hypnotic video, featuring the alluring choreographer Lindy Nsingo in a trance-induced, cathartic dancefloor moment, captures the gritty aesthetics of the underground London club scene which served as one of the main sources of influence for Murphy's tireless and self-directed video project. The rapturous single was co-written by a Tanzanian artist Mim Suleiman whose album "Tungi" I have been holding close to my muso heart for years. The bass-laden B-side "World's Crazy" is a funk-dripping slow burner even if it may seem a little understated next to the throbbing extravaganza of "The Rumble". Yet another example that Róisín Murphy doesn't do lazy b-sides!

You can order your copy of the limited edition 12" single of "The Rumble"/"World's Crazy" directly from The Vinyl Factory.

What a year it's been for all of us Róisín Murphy admirers and devotees! Here's a little summary of the previous chapters with handy links and music videos:


Limited Edition 12" at The Vinyl Factory (Edition of 1000)
Shrem's Carousel post


Limited Edition 12" at The Vinyl Factory (Edition of 1500)
Shrem's Carousel post


Limited Edition 12" at The Vinyl Factory (Edition of 1500)
Shrem's Carousel post

ALL artwork by Bráulio Amado!
Order your limited edition T-Shirts HERE!

And this is how it all began...

Monday, November 5, 2018

Crème de la Shrem: TOP 25 BEST OF OCTOBER 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Freelance" - Toro Y Moi (Carpark Records)

24 (N) "Slide" - Escort (self-released)

23 (N) "Lover Chanting" - Little Dragon (Ninja Tune)

22 (N) "High on Your Love" - Amber Mark (Jasmine Music/PMR)

21 (N) "Oedo 808" - Lone (R&S Records)

20 (8) "Good In You" - Seinabo Sey (Saraba AB/Universal)

19 (N) "Senga" - Galleriet (self-released)

18 (N) "Stuff" - Roses Gabor (AllPoints)

17 (N) "Girls R Us" - Lyzza (self-released)

16 (20) "Topdown" - Channel Tres (GODMODE)

15 (N) "Walls" - Crooked Man feat. Amy Douglas (DFA/Play It Again Sam)

14 (N) "Karma" - Svala (Sony Music)

13 (N) "Swim" - Mild Minds (Foreign Family Collective)

12 (5) "Can't Hang On" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

11 (N) "Gabriel" - NAO (Little Tokyo Recordings)

10 (N) "Crush (It's Late, Just Stay)" - Yumi Zouma (Cascine)

9 (N) "Signorelli" - Galleriet (self-released)

8 (N) "Better" - Buzzy Lee (Future Classic)

7 (N) "World's Crazy" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

6 (9) "Never Saw It Coming" - Amy Douglas (DFA)

5 (1) "Jacuzzi Rollercoaster" - Róisín Murphy feat. Ali Love (The Vinyl Factory)

4 (N) "Overtime" - Jessie Ware (PMR/Virgin EMI)

3 (2) "Honey" - Robyn (Konichiwa Records)

2 (N) "The Rumble" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

1 (N) "Écoute chérie" - Vendredi sur Mer (Profil de Face)