Monday, August 28, 2017


I am returning following a 3-week long wedding driven hiatus to share some more music with you, hopefully in a more systematic manner again. Thank you for your patience.

It was difficult to choose the very first song as there have been quite a few new tracks on the horizon these past 3 weeks but I've decided to be loyal and dedicate it to Blissful - the brand new project by Svala Kali and Einar Egils from the cult Icelandic ensemble Steed Lord, one of the most blogged about acts on my carousel. Blissful have just dropped their most anticipated second single "Make It Better", a follow up to the duo's magnificent debut track "Elevate" of which I was singing the praises last year.

Even though the single clearly is a further venture into the electronic R'N'B territories, and even though some of Svala's vocals seem quite different, it's still uncannily THEM! Their signature synth-laden production amalgamated with one of their most melodic and (almost!) radio-friendly efforts to date creates a sublime pop moment! Understated yet offering tremendous potential at the same time. As the visual aspect of Blissful's work is a crucial element of their artistic vision, I am already looking forward to the video for "Make It Better".

Tuesday, August 8, 2017


Finnish maestro Jori Hulkkonen teams up with Tiga once again for another delectable, instantly anthemic slice of electro anthem "Woke". The kind of Tiga single which we all adore the most. Carrying some entertaining "Bugatti" and "Shoes" reminiscences, "Woke" electrifies with Tiga's signature catchy spoken phrases, throbbing beats, vocoders and a rather unexpected sax solo towards the track's finale.

Thursday, August 3, 2017

Crème de la crème: TOP 25 BEST OF JULY 2017

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "My Lady Héroïne " - Corine (Kwaidan)

24 (N) "Work it Out" - Moullinex feat. Fritz Helder (discotexas)

23 (N) "Loverboy" - Lomboy (Cracki)

22 (RE) "Happy House" - Hard Ton (Luv Shack)

21 (N) "Iteration" - Com Truise (Ghostly International)

20 (N) "Don't Know You" - HEIZE [널 너무 모르고 - 헤이즈] (CJ E&M)

19 (N) "Feels You" - Moad (F2)

18 (N) "Give It To Ya" - Josh Pan feat. ABRA (OWSLA)

17 (N) "You Deserve This" - Men I Trust (self-released)

16 (RE) "Bofou Safou (Henrik Schwarz Remix)" - Amadou & Mariam (Because Music)

15 (N) "Therapy" - Yaeji (GODMODE)

14 (N) "Radius" - Mount Alaska (Language Recordings)

13 (N) "Tokoliana" - KOKOKO! (ici)

12 (N) "What's Your Problem?' - Shay Lia (N.O.T.E.)

11 (1) "Destiny" - GL (self-released)

10 (RE) "Strobe Light" - Little Dragon (Because Music)

9 (N) "Undercover" - Susanne Sundfør (Bella Union)

8 (N) "Midnight" - Jessie Ware (Universal Music)

7 (8) "Ariadna" - Kedr Livanskiy (2MR)

6 (N) "In & Out" - Moon King (Arbutus)

5 (N) "Oh My My" - Smerz (XL Recordings)

4 (3) "Les filles désir" - Vendredi sur Mer (Profil de Face)

3 (2) "Bluecid" - Sevdaliza (Twisted Elegance)

2 (N) "Narcissus" - Róisín Murphy (Lives Through Magic)

1 (N) "Featherlight" - Gus Gus (self-released on Bandcamp)