Tuesday, February 17, 2015


Róisín Murphy is back with a rather surprising first teaser taken from her upcoming 3rd studio LP "Hairless Toys" which drops via Play It Again Sam on 11th May 2015. The unpredictable "Gone Fishing" shows La Murphy's impressive palette of vocal capabilities and sounds like an electronic medley of Moloko's final studio album "Statutes", her jazzy excursions with Matthew Herbert on "Ruby Blue" while remaining hugely independent and intriguing. The layers of melodic twists, sonic quirks, wall-of-sound effects and productional tricks (Eddie Stevens?) make this one of her most original songs to date. In her own words:

"This song was written after I watched the documentary film Paris Is Burning, having read an article which referenced it in a discussion about House music's origins in black, gay culture. I was deeply moved by this film. 'I had to run this far from home' - it's about the outcasts who could never fit into mainstream society and how they created a safe place in the drag 'Ball' scene of New York in the ‘80s. 'Will we live on? The children of La Beija' refers to the 'house' of Pepper La Beija, who was one of the most notable figures on the scene, Pepper is also quoted in Malcolm McLaren's song on the same subject 'Deep In Vogue'. The culture was a flamboyant reaction to persecution and disillusionment, the imagination and bravery of these kids is simply awe-inspiring. I envisioned 'Gone Fishing' almost as a song from a Broadway musical version of this story. The making of one's own world, a safer world and the creation of a new, better family in music or youth culture is a theme I touch upon elsewhere on my album Hairless Toys."


01 Gone Fishing
02 Evil Eyes
03 Exploitation
04 Uninvited Guest
05 Exile
06 House of Glass
07 Hairless Toys (Gotta Hurt)
08 Unputdownable

Pre-order from iTunes now!