Saturday, June 23, 2018

LA MURPHY SAGA CONTINUES: "PLAYTHING" / "LIKE" [with Maurice Fulton] - Róisín Murphy

Following the superlative "All My Dreams" + "Innocence" double-offering, Róisín Murphy reveals the 2nd instalment in her latest artistic project in collaboration with Maurice Fulton. This time the pair is serving the instantly anthemic "Plaything" - your brand new club essential and the multi-layered, steamy electro-meets-disco-noir moment "Like". Both tracks immediately land among the Irish artist's most accomplished tracks to date. Alongside "Momma's Place", "You Know Me Better" and "Simulation", 'Plaything" stands out as one of Murphy's most vigorous house gems in her entire catalogue! The intricately produced and almost Kraftwerk-ian in places "Like" on the other hand, joins the likes (!) of "Foolish", "Discomfort of Strangers", "Unlovable" or "Ripples" in the extensive list of her most impressive b-sides. Such a treat for die-hard fans and completist collectors of her art as myself. I life you Róisín Murphy!

"Plaything" + "Like" are available digitally already and you can pre-order your own copy of the limited edition 12" via The Vinyl Factory ahead of its 6th July release.

The very talented Bráulio Amado designed all the exclusive artwork for the whole series of these four scintillating 12" singles produced by Maurice Fulton and released across four consecutive months this summer.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018


The mysterious Miink beguiled us last autumn with his hypnotising debut single "Who Are You?" which landed him a secure spot among the Top 10 Hottest Newcomers of 2017. Now the fascinating London-based vocalist returns with "Scorched Moth". Floating effortlessly between genres, styles and sounds, it creates a unique sonic hybrid which leaves us gasping for more at its modest yet aurally abundant 2.41min. The artistic future is bright for this multi-talented, curious and inventive young gentleman.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018


I am reviving my "Newbies But To-Be's" thread today with the arrival of the enigmatic Otha. Otha follows Smerz, Sassy 009, Lekende Lett, or ARY in the recent invasion of independent Norwegian female artists. Norway has enjoyed a really prolific club and electronica scene for way over 2 decades at this stage, yet each one of these new talents is bringing something fresh to the table. Othalie Husøy's self-released "One of the Girls" has it all. The seductive collage of ambient and deep house, that uncannily crisp Scandinavian synth-pop production, haunting melody and flawless vocal harmonies. It is an instantly captivating composition, complete in every respect. I have lost the play count of "One of the Girls" at this stage as I remain completely mesmerised by the song.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Crème de la Shrem: TOP 25 BEST OF MAY 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Dancing With The Devil" - NIKI (88rising Music)

24 (N) "Det Slår Mig Ibland" - Cherrie (Araweelo)

23 (N) "Tyyyle miłości" - Reni Jusis (Sony Music)

22 (N) "Heaven Is My Thing Again" - SSION feat. Ian Isiah, MNDR & Jametatone (self-released)

21 (6) "Wdsg?" - Bea (self-released)

20 (N) "Breathe" - Seinabo Sey (Saraba AB)

19 (N) "Ultimatum" - Discloure feat. Fatoumata Diawara (PMR)

18 (N) "Black Walls" - Chromatics (Italians Do It Better)

17 (N) "Sylvia Says (A-Trak Remix)" - Charlotte Gainsbourg (Because Music)

16 (N) "Love Is Stronger Than Pride" - Amber Mark (PMR)

15 (2) "Dancefloor" - Tracey Thorn (Merge Records)

14 (N) "Coolhand" - Buzzy Lee (Future Classic)

13 (N) "Fuel" - Gus Gus (Oroom)

12 (3) "Travelling Without Arriving" - Peggy Gou (Phonica Records)

11 (N) "Text Apology (Demuja Remix)" - Shouse feat. Martha (Clipp.Art)

10 (N) "Jukebox" - Луна (self-released)

9 (N) "Substitutes" - Sink Ya Teeth (Hey Buffalo Records)

8 (N) "Black Magik Dawn" - Josh Caffe & Hannah Holland (Night Sheen Records)

7 (N) "Scratch That" - Dj Koze feat. Róisín Murphy (Pampa Records)

6 (N) "5D" - Sevdaliza (Twisted Elegance)

5 (N) "Looking From Above" - Fede Lng feat. Yaeji (Axe On Wax)

4 (N) "Damn, Dis-Moi" - Christine and the Queens feat. Dâm-Funk (Because Music)

3 (N) "All My Dreams" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

2 (1) "Controller" - Channel Tres (GODMODE)

1 (N) "Innocence" - Róisín Murphy (The Vinyl Factory)

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

SHREM'S LIST OBSESSION: "Damn, dis-moi" - Christine & The Queens feat. Dâm-Funk + Top 10 Greatest DāM-FunK Collaborations

The wonder-child of French Pop Christine & The Queens is back with a fresh and unexpected collaboration with a Californian maestro of electronic funk and neo-boogie, the mighty DāM-FunK himself. The 1980's flavoured "Damn, dis-moi" (also available in an English version "Girlfriend") is a sublime cocktail of vintage synth pop, post-disco and the producer's signature funktronica. This truly delectable joint effort, which I have had on the loop for the past 2 weeks, is already shaping to be one of the strongest contenders for the track of the year and I can't think of a better occasion to re-visit Dâm-Funk's impressive back catalogue of previous projects.

Top 10 Greatest DāM-FunK Collaborations:

10 "What's On Your Mind" - with Tony Cook (2010)

9 "Glyde 2nyte" - with Leon Sylvers III & Leon Sylvers IV (2015)

"What's Up" - with Ekkah (2016)

7 "I Know (That You Are the 1)" - with Ikonika (2014)

6 "Bail Me Out" - with Trus'me (2009)

5 "Warm Eyes" - with Fatima (2010)

4 "Space Between Us" - with Ekkah (2016)

3 "Can U Read Me?" - Nite-Funk (2016)

"Damn, dis-moi/Girlfriend" - with Christine & The Queens (2018)

1 "Let Me Be Me" - Nite-Funk (2016)

Monday, May 28, 2018

SHREM'S LIST OBSESSION: TOP 50 Greatest Kylie Minogue Songs /// Kylie's 50th Birthday Edition [vol 2. 25-1]

25 "Butterfly" (2001)

24 "I Was Gonna Cancel" (2014)

23 "Where The Wild Roses Grow" [with Nick Cave] (1995)

22 "Look My Way" - from "Kylie" (1988)

21 "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" (2001)

20 "Red Blooded Woman" (2004)

19 "Put Yourself In My Place (Drizabone Mix)" (1994)

18 "Light Years" - from "Light Years" (2000)

17 "I Believe In You" (2004)

16 "Breathe" (1998)

15 "Step Back In Time" (1990)

14 "Fine" - from "Kiss Me Once" (2014)

13 "Shocked (DNA 7" Mix)" (1991)

12 "Too Far" - from "Impossible Princess" (1997)

11 "The One" (2008)

10 "Come into my world (Fischerspooner remix)" (2002)

9 "What Do I Have To Do" (1991)

8 "Nu-Di-Ty" - from "X" (2007)

7 "All the Lovers" (2010)

6 "Closer" - from "Aphrodite" (2010)

5 "Where Is The Feeling? (BIR Dolphin Mix)" (1995)

4 "G.B.I. (German Bold Italic)" [with Towa Tei] (1998)

"Slow" (2003)

"Confide In Me" (1994)

1 "Chocolate" (2004)