Monday, March 5, 2018

Crème de la crème: TOP 25 BEST OF FEBRUARY 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Flexin (Garage Mix)" - L-Vis 1990 feat. Taliwhoah (self-released)

24 (N) "TopBrazil" - Fischerspooner (Ultra Records)

23 (N) "Blackbirds" - Avante Black (self-released)

22 (N) "Soul Syncable" - Sevdaliza (Twisted Elegance)

21 (N) "After The Storm" - Kali Uchis feat. Tyler, The Creator & Bootsy Collins (A Rinse/Virgin EMI)

20 (N) "S.H.A.K.E" - Mind Enterprises (Because Music)

19 (N) "Temples" - Lone (R&S Records)

18 (N) "Annie" - Mt. Si (Cascine)

17 (6) "Limelight" - Nightwave (Fool's Gold Records)

16 (N) "La Sandunguera" - Nathy Peluso (Everlasting Records)

15 (N) "IDK About You" - Fever Ray (Rabid)

14 (N) "Pushin'" - Sink Ya Teeth (Hey Buffalo)

13 (N) "Make Me Feel" - Janelle Monáe (Bad Boy Records)

12 (3) "Down Delay" - Midnight Magic (Soul Clap)

11 (N) "Cherish" - Shay Lia (N.O.T.E.)

10 (N) "Han Jan" - Peggy Gou (Ninja Tune)

9 (N) "Sister" - Tracey Thorn (Unmade Road)

8 (N) "I Give It Away" - Len Sander (Mouthwatering Records)

7 (N) "Les Temps" - Vendredi sur Mer (Profil de Face)

6 (N) "La Nuit" - Juliette Armanet (Wrasse Records)

5 (5) "A State Nearby" - NTEIBINT & Σtella (Eskimo Recrdings/N.E.W.S.)

4 (N) "Tangerine" - Aaron Childs (GODMODE)

3 (1) "Find a Way" - Blissful (Vitund)

2 (2) "It Makes You Forget (Itgehane)" - Peggy Gou (Ninja Tune)

1 (N) "Lifetime" - Gus Gus (Oroom)

Thursday, March 1, 2018


Today, I am revisiting the only thread on my blog which is fully dedicated to one artist - the one, the only, the incomparable Róisín Murphy. While we impatiently anticipate the release of La Murphy's fresh Maurice Fulton-produced club singles, we are being treated to the first of two collaborations with Dj Koze, taken from his upcoming album "Knock Knock". The surprising "Illumination" is a seductive sonic cocktail of Koze's electronic wizardry, unexpected melody twists and Murphy's vocal acrobatics in the full palette of her incomparable voice as she becomes the "cyborg funk diva". The track doesn't quite sound like any other joint efforts Róisín Murphy committed to in the past and marks the beginning of what's shaping to be a rather exciting year for both the Irish artist herself and her devoted fans, myself included.

Koze on Murphy: "Working on a song together with Roísín is even better than not working at all"

"Knock Knock" is out 4th May via Pamper Records.

Here's an updated Soundcloud playlist celebrating most of Róisín Murphy's collaborations to date:

Monday, February 19, 2018

SHREM'S DOUBLE TROUBLE: "CHERISH" - Shay Lia /// "2 REAL" - Chrystal

Today's post is dedicated to all the R&B and Female Artist lovers searching for a breath of fresh air. These two ladies have already caught our attention last year and are now bringing their new sounds into 2018. Here's Shay Lia and Chrystal.

The Canada-based Djiboutian/French vocalist/lyricist Shay Lia already took my carousel by storm last year with the summery groove "What's Your Problem?", her fantastic collaboration with the mighty Kaytranada. The multi-talented Haitian-Canadian dj is also responsible for producing the silky "Cherish" - Lia's classy 80's flavoured neo-soul ballad which lyrically expresses the singer's take-on the Syrian Refugee crisis. One to watch for 2018, big time!

Chrystal is a vocalist/producer from Bolton whose debut single "Waves" I was completed hooked on about 6 months ago. Signed to 37 Adventures - an independent London-based record label, the singer has just released her brand new single, the irresistibly catchy "2 Real". This bouncy R&B gem was produced by by Nao and Bonzai collaborator John Calvert.

Friday, February 9, 2018


Juliette Armanet has been carrying the duties of a French Pop ambassador across Europe in a classy, elegant, quintessentially French way ever since I have fallen in love with "L'Amour en Solitaire" which I found on Colette's "French Kiss" compilation back in 2014... Armanet's debut album, the exquisite "Petite Amie" has just been re-released in a generous deluxe format with 4 bonus tracks. The release is accompanied by a delectably disco-kitsch video for "L'Indien" directed by Pablo Padovani. One of the 4 new bonus tracks is the marvellous retro-chic ballad "La Nuit" which you can also enjoy below.

I am completely re-falling in love with this sublime record as I type this. Magnifique!

Monday, February 5, 2018


I was honoured to have the Norwich synth-pop duo Sink Ya Teeth cherry-pick this Perfect Party Playlist exclusively for my blog 2 weeks ago and now Maria Uzor and Gemma Cullingford are releasing their much anticipated brand new single "Pushin'". The pulsating track is an energy-fuelled fusion of synth-disco, post-punk and electro-pop. Meaty bass lines, throbbing beats, untamed vocals, retro-sounding synthesisers - a signature sonic cocktail à la Sink Ya Teeth. Raw and contagious.

Friday, February 2, 2018

Crème de la crème: TOP 25 BEST OF JANUARY 2018

Exclusive artwork: Les Cullinan Designs

25 (N) "Matahari" - L'Impératrice (microqlima)

24 (23) "Paradox Garage" - FaltyDL (Aus Music)

23 (N) "To Be Continued." - Seven Davis Jr. (Secret Angels)

22 (N) "Filthy" - Justin Timberlake (RCA Records)

21 (N) "Yellow Dust" - Miink (self-released)

20 (N) "Not Long Ago" - Onra (All City Records)

19 (N) "Pearly Gates" - U.S. Girls ft. James Baley (4AD)

18 (N) "Shivers" - L.A. Law (Burger Records)

17 (N) "A Part of Us" - Fever Ray ft. Tami T (Rabid)

16 (N) "Surface to Air" - Django Django ft. Self Esteem (Because Music)

15 (N) "Lost Phoenix" - Josh Caffe (Night Sheen)

14 (N) "Niki" - Perez (Etoile Distante)

13 (N) "Sylvia Says" - Charlotte Gainsbourg (Because Music)

12 (N) "Sticky" - Ravyn Lenae (Atlantic)

11 (N) "Feel Me" - Sassy 009 (Hard Up)

10 (N) "Bird of Prey" - Dita von Teese feat. Sébastien Tellier (Record Makers)

9 (N) "Nothing New" - Charlotte Day Wilson (self-released)

8 (5) "Arisen My Senses" - Björk (One Little Indian)

7 (N) "Lune est l'Autre" - Vendredi sur Mer (Profil de Face)

6 (N) "Limelight" - Nightwave (Fool's Gold Records)

5 (N) "A State Nearby" - NTEIBINT & Σtella (Eskimo Recrdings/N.E.W.S.)

4 (N) "Everything" - Lisa Stansfield (Edel)

3 (N) "Down Delay" - Midnight Magic (Soul Clap)

2 (N) "It Makes You Forget (Itgehane)" - Peggy Gou (Ninja Tune)

1 (N) "Find a Way" - Blissful (Vitund)